75th Anniversary Encampment

November 6th – 10th, 2024



The Death Valley ’49ers organization has been instrumental in preserving the history and natural beauty of one of nature’s most awe-inspiring wild places since 1949. When you join the Death Valley ’49ers you will have the satisfaction of knowing that you are helping to expand public awareness of Death Valley, protecting and preserving it for the use and enjoyment of present and future generations.

Your membership also helps to award college scholarships to local graduating seniors and fund educational programs presented by the National Park Service and the Death Valley Natural History Association.

We encourage you to explore our website and learn more about the organization and Death Valley.


1949 Celebration Pioneer Family Members

75th Anniversary Encampment 2024

For event information:  75TH ANNIVERSARY 2024

Members needed to help with both the planning

and the running of the 2024 Encampment.


This will be our last planning meeting to make sure everything is ready for the encampment. 

Please attend in person if possible as zoom link does not work well in the room we use.

For more information go to our Meeting Link:


75th Anniversary Display

Death Valley National Park Visitor Center

Thanks to the expertise of NPS personnel, a special display is in place to to commemorate the 75th anniversary of the Death Valley ’49ers organization. It was installed at the DVNPS Furnace Creek visitor center last November and will remain in place through the 75th anniversary encampment to be held Nov 6–10, 2024.

Below left to right: Adam Ramsey, Concessions Management Specialist/’49ers Liaison; Sarah Saxe, Museum Curator; Nichole Andler, Chief of Interpretation and Education.

Message from the Chairperson
Robert Whipple

The Death Valley ‘49ers encampment has always been a place to gather and make new friends, spend quality time with old friends, and enjoy a week or so without interruption from the outside world. I could never say enough to express my sincere appreciation for what the ‘49ers have given me. It has been my distinct privilege and honor to be part of this organization.



Officers 2024/2025

Robert Whipple, Chairperson
Tim Young, Vice Chairperson
Janette Jensen, Director/Secretary
Jerry Eppler, Director/Treasurer
Henry Golas, Director